Gaurav Shekhar  


Gaurav Shekhar, President (2021-2022)

Gaurav is the Program Director of the Graduate Business Analytics Program (FLEX and Online). He is also an Assistant Professor of Instruction in the Information Systems area and teaches courses like Business Intelligence and Digital Consulting to both Graduate and Undergraduates. His main areas of research are IT Project Management, AI/Machine Learning, Natural Language, and Organizational Leadership. He enjoys working with students and works with them across academic and non-academic areas. He has been instrumental in setting up student and corporate engagement programs at UT Dallas. He is one big believer in the concept of Servant Leadership which is the base of most of his initiatives. He is open to new ideas and feels that empowering the students is a great way to serve the school and the university. He heads the Toastmasters District in North Eastern Texas, which has a strong presence in the School of Management as well.

Abhishek Tripathi

Abhishek Tripathi, Secretary (2021-2022)

Abhishek is an Assistant Professor of Information Systems in the School of Business at The College of New Jersey. He has nine years of teaching experience in IT-related graduate and undergraduate courses and worked professionally in the software and telecommunications domain for four years. His current research interests are in project management, crowdsourcing, sustainable educational technologies, IT/IS leadership, big data, and virtual Project management. Abhishek received the best IS teacher award from the Devang Mehta Business School. In his free time, he loves to play ping pong.

Maheshwar Boodraj

Maheshwar Boodraj, Treasurer (2021-2022)

Mahesh is an Assistant Professor at Boise State University, where he conducts research on technical debt, software development, and IT project management. Before joining academia, Mahesh spent over a decade in various managerial and technical roles at IBM and the Mona School of Business and Management. Mahesh enjoys meeting new people and serving the communities to which he belongs. Mahesh currently serves as President of the AIS Doctoral Student College, which he co-founded. Previously, Mahesh served on the boards of several non-profit organizations, including the Project Management Institute, Jamaica Chapter, where he served as President and Chairman.

Tenace Setor

Tenace Setor, Membership and Community Relations Chair (2021-2022)

Tenace is an Assistant Professor at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. His research seeks to understand why and how high technology professionals sustain themselves through the development of human capital. Specifically, his research examines themes related to IT careers, compensation, and work-design. Tenace is a regular participant at major IS conferences, and his work has appeared in management and information systems journals, including Human Relations and Journal of Computer Information Systems.

Open Position

Michael A. Erskine, Communications Chair (2021-2022)

Michael received his Ph.D. in Computer Science and Information Systems from the University of Colorado Denver and is an Assistant Professor at Middle Tennessee State University. Previously, he served as the Director of the Educational Technology Center at Metropolitan State University of Denver. His research interests include technology governance, educational technology, location analytics, technology workforce competencies, and disaster management. Michael’s research has been presented at numerous international, national, and regional conferences. Additionally, his work has been published in several journals, including Information Systems Frontiers, International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction, Computers in Human Behavior, Journal of Consumer Marketing and Journal of Computer Information Systems. Michael lives in Tennessee and has an active role in Nashville’s burgeoning technology community. In his spare time, he enjoys sailing, scuba diving, mountain biking, and hiking.

Dawn Owens

Dawn Owens, Immediate Past President (2021-2022)

Dawn is a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Texas at Dallas. She is the Program Director for their undergraduate degree program titled Information Technology and Systems at the Naveen Jindal School of Management. Before coming to UT Dallas, she was an Associate Professor at Bellevue University. She also has a rich corporate experience of 13+ years at West Corporation, in which she rose to the position of Director of Information Services. Dawn is very engaged with several professional organizations. Apart from AIS, she is on the Board of High Tech High Heels, an organization that champions the cause of STEM education for girls. She also heads the ITS Academy, which aims at conducting events for Middle School and High School Students. Her favorite activity is spending time with her three kids, apart from fostering rescue dogs, something very close to her heart.


Deepak Khazanchi

Deepak Khazanchi, Founder

Deepak is Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor of Information Systems and Quantitative Analysis, and Community Engagement and Internationalization Officer in the College of Information Science & Technology (IS&T) at the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO). He has affiliate faculty appointments in UNO’s International Studies program and the Leonard and Shirley Goldstein Center for Human Rights. He has adjunct/affiliate faculty appointments at the University of Agder (Norway), Management Center Innsbruck (Austria), and the University of International Business & Economics (Beijing, China). He currently serves on the Board of Management of two Universities in India, Brownell Talbot High School Board of Trustees, the Collective for Youth Advisory Board, and the Refugee Empowerment Center Board in Omaha. He was the founder of SIGITProjMgmt, served as VP of Programs for the PMI Heartlands Chapter, President of the Midwest AIS, co-chaired AMCIS 2005, and was a member of the AIS Council.

Elections are held during the annual business meeting which occurs during the International Research Workshop on IT Project Management (held in conjunction with ICIS). Those wishing to run for an office should submit their name and profile to the Membership and Community Relations Chair 30 days prior to the business meeting.

Past Presidents

2017 - 2020: Dawn Owens, Ph.D.
2013 - 2016: Alanah Mitchell, Ph.D.
2009 - 2012: Stacie Petter, Ph.D.