Outstanding Officer Awards

Our AIS community relies heavily on volunteers to serve in various roles. The MWAIS Executive Board voted to create an Outstanding Officer Award to recognize member(s) of the MWAIS Executive Board (EB) who show above-average leadership, dedication, and commitment to the chapter by executing duties exceptionally well and/or taking on duties beyond what is expected from per the MWAIS Bylaws in service of the chapters’ business. Thank you for your service to the MWAIS community!


Alanah Mitchell (Drake University) was recognized for her leadership as President of MWAIS.


Ryan Scheutzler (University of Nebraska Omaha) was recognized for his leadership as President of MWAIS.


Don Heath (University of Wisconsin Osh Kosh) was recognized for his hard work with the MWAIS conference.

2018 (inaugural)

Ryan Schuetzler (University of Nebraska-Omaha) was recognized for his work on the MWAIS logo redesign project as well as the new lapel pins.

Shana Ponelis (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee) was recognized for her work as President and for leading the MWAIS website design project with the help of a student team from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s Nonprof-IT initiative.

Best Paper Awards

At each year’s conference the Program (Co-)Chairs identify the best three papers based on blind peer reviews to be recognized with best paper awards. 
Congratulations to the following papers and their authors!


Best Paper:
Because She's Worth IT: Stereotype Challenges for Female CIOs in Ensuring IT Security Compliance

Guarav Bansal (University of Wisconsin - Green Bay)
Zhouli Axelton (University of Wisconsin - Green Bay)

Best Student Paper:
The Changing Nature of IT Career Determinants: A Two-Year Longitudinal Study

Qinhui Wang (Oklahoma State University)
Andy Luse (Oklahoma State University)
Julie Rursch (Iowa State University)


1st place:
Towards a Cybersecurity Testbed for Agriculturual Vehicles and Environments

Mark Freyhof (University of Nebraska – Lincoln)
George Grispos (University of Nebraska – Omaha)
Santosh Pitla (University of Nebraska – Lincoln)
Cody Stolle (University of Nebraska – Lincoln)


Daniel J. Power Best Paper Award:
1st place:
Augmented Reality: Increasing Engagement, Motivation, and Retention in Education  
He Liu, Jessica Boles, Jessica Summers, Fiona Nah

2nd place:
The implications of the quality dimensions of information systems on knowledge sharing, and user satisfaction  
Zahid Zamir, Daeryong Kim

3rd place:
Exploring the Impact of Organizational Culture on Information Security Policy Compliance: The Case of Ethiopia  
Kibrom Tadesse, Tilahun Muluneh, Mikko T. Siponen


1st place:
Reactions to Online Criticism: Retaliatory Behaviors in Peer-to-Peer Networks  
Andrew Harrison (University of Cincinnati)
Craig Froehle (University of Cincinnati)
David Rapien (University of Cincinnati)

2nd place:
Consumer Skepticism as it Relates to E Commerce Data Breaches and Company Efforts to Enhance Trust  
Steven Muzatko (University of Wisconsin Green Bay)
Gaurav Bansal (University of Wisconsin Green Bay)

3rd place:
A Comparative Study of Machine Learning Approaches for Human Activity Recognition  
Loknath Sai Ambati (Dakota State University)
Omar El-Gayar (Dakota State University)


1st Place:
Modular and Collaborative Theorizing: A Move Away from Theoretical Superstars
Jeffrey Wall (Michigan Technological University)

2nd place:
Trust Violations and Rebuilding After a Data Breach: Role of Environmental Stewardship and Underlying Motives
Gaurav Bensal (University of Wisconsin Green Bay)
Noah Redfearn (University of Wisconsin Green Bay)

3rd place:
Building Trust in Healthcare IoT
Madhav Sharma (Oklahoma State University)
David Biros (Oklahoma State University)


1st place:
Complying with BYOD Security Policies: A Moderation Model
Cindy Zhiling Tu (Northwest Missouri State University),
Joni Adkins (Northwest Missouri State University), and
Gary Yu Zhao (Northwest Missouri State University

2nd place:
Mobile Course Feedback System for Improving Student Engagement
Nathaniel Williams (Missouri University of Science & Technology)
Jake Mondschein (Missouri University of Science & Technology)
Mark Farmer (Missouri University of Science & Technology)
Nathan Twyman (Missouri University of Science & Technology)

3rd place:
Role of Decision Making in Predicting Health Behavior
Neetu Singh (University of Illinois at Springfield),
Apoorva Kanthwal (University of Illinois at Springfield),
Prashant Bidhuri (University of Illinois at Springfield) and
Anusha Vijaykumar Munnolli (University of Illinois at Springfield)


1st Place:
How User Information Assurance Influences Perceived Information Control in Cloud Storage Service: A Self Determination Perspective
Yuan Li, University of Illinois Springfield
Kuo-Chung Chang, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan
Jingguo Wang, University of Texas at Arlington

2nd Place:
Media Choice in Asynchronous Deception Detection
Roger W. McHaney, Kansas State University
Joey F. George, Iowa State University
Manjul Gupta, Florida International University

3rd Place:
Filter Bubble, Selective Exposure, and Integrative Complexity
Elahe Javadi, Illinois State University
Nancy L. Novotny, Illinois State University
Elnaz Mirrahimi, Illinois State University
Navid Rajabi, Illinois State University


1st place:
Motivating Employees to Comply with Information Security Policies
David Sikolia, Ilinois State University
David Biros, Oklahoma State University

2nd place:
Moral Beliefs and Organizational Information Security Policy Compliance: The Role of Gender
Gaurav Bansal, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Kayla Hodorff, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Kyle Marshall, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

3rd place:
A Typology of Student Social Media Users: A Posting Behavior Perspective
Robert Miller, Central Michigan University
James Melton, Central Michigan University


1st place:
Information Complexity, Presentation Rhetoric, and Message Impact: A Study on American Healthcare
Monica Bordoloi, Open Sesame Corporation
Anne Powell, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
Bijoy Bordoloi, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville

2nd place:

Strategic Asset Transfer in IT Outsourcing Contracts
Shivendu Shivendu, University of California, Irvine and Qiang Zeng, Shantou University

3rd place:
Testing the Empowerment Model of Behavioral Change
Omer Alrwais, Claremont Graduate University
Omar Aboulola, Claremont Graduate University
Osamah Altammami, Claremont Graduate University
Brian Hilton, Claremont Graduate University

Best Reviewer Awards

Peer review is a critical yet under-appreciated service in our community. Taking the time to provide thorough and constructive peer reviews is vital to IS researchers. The Program (Co-)Chairs identify the peer reviewer(s) that went above and beyond to provide constructive feedback.

Thank you for your service to the IS community!


Deanna House, University of Nebraska at Omaha


Nikhil Mehta


Nikhil Mehta, University of North Carolina Greensboro


Connie Barber, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

2018 (inaugural)

Fiona Fui-Hoon Nah, Missouri University of Science & Technology
Honorable mention: Elahe Javadi, Illinois State University