Welcome to the College of Senior Scholars page!

The College of Senior Scholars (CSS) meets annually at the culmination of the International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS). CSS also hosts an ICIS panel annually on a topic of general importance that cross-sects the interests and activity of the general AIS membership. Some recent CSS events are described below:

At the most recent panel in Seoul, Korea, a panel discussed ethical issues in IS scholarship. Questions explored were: What do you see as the most important ethical challenge today? What should be done about them? The discussion is likely to become a CAIS paper, and they are likely to include recommendations on more training and communication of policies, expectations, and norms.

The College members met after the Senior Scholars panel closed out ICIS 2017. The College was presented with summary of the 2017 panel, an update on the Basket of Journals task force, and proposals for the 2018 panel.

Alan Dennis provided results of the 2017 survey and sought and received guidance on further data to collect. Dennis Galletta presented a proposal for an electronic publication that would include short practitioner briefings of current articles from a set of journals (to be determined). This would enhance the value proposition for practitioners, perhaps at least encouraging students to retain their memberships as practitioners in AIS. If some percent of them continue their memberships, we could engage more with them and provide value. This could tie together many current endeavors that are going on all over the world. In light of this, Fred Niederman proposed that the 2018 Senior Scholars topic focus on connecting IS academia with practice. All of those proposals were accepted by the College.

We would like to announce that Ferdinando Pennarola is joining the Senior Scholars Coordinating Team as next year's coordinator. Here's to a productive and inclusive 2018!

Your facilitators, Dennis Galletta, Jane Fedorowicz, and Ferdinando Pennarola

Latest Discussions

There are no discussions to which you have access

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

Upcoming Events

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

Recent Shared Files

No Data Found

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.


  • Welcome to the AIS Communities portal!

    This AIS Communities portal was created in response to AIS members requesting a better way to connect with SIGs, Chapters, and Colleges. This new platform will allow you to create discussion points, share documents, and stay up to date on all things AIS.  AIS Communities is connected to your AIS membership account to create a seamless sign on and will sync your AIS membership information directly to your AIS communities profile.

    Changes in your AIS member profile will be reflected on your AIS communities profile but will not connect in the reverse.

    Please direct questions regarding AIS Communities to the AIS Membership Team at membership@aisnet.org.

Most Active Members

Log in to see this information